Strange errors when doing some Windows IOT exploration on Raspberry PI 2

I started my new project – but after a while I started to get some very strange errors.

Severity Code Description Project File Line
Error The .winmd file 'Windows.Devices.DevicesLowLevelContract.winmd' contains type 'Windows.Devices.DevicesLowLevelContract' outside its root namespace 'Windows.Devices.DevicesLowLevelContract'. Make sure that all public types appear under a common root namespace that matches the output file name. XIOTCore_Samples

and

Severity Code Description Project File Line
Error The .winmd file 'Windows.Devices.DevicesLowLevelContract.winmd' contains type 'Windows.Devices.Spi.ISpiConnectionSettings'. The use of the Windows namespace is reserved. XIOTCore_Samples

After a while of mucking around I discovered that in one of my projects I’d used Resharper to resolve and import the required reference for me, and it brought in the wrong thing… I deleted the wrong reference, adding in the proper SDK manually and did a  clean build.
TL;DR you must include the IOT SDK yourself, don’t let Resharper do it for you!

Leave a comment